HomePunjabChandigarh Lok Sabha election results 2024: It’s BJP versus Congress

Chandigarh Lok Sabha election results 2024: It’s BJP versus Congress

Chandigarh Lok Sabha results Live: Chandigarh has one Lok Sabha constituency that covers the entire Union Territory. The 2024 Lok Sabha elections in Chandigarh were held in a single phase on 1st June (Phase 7). The counting of votes is today, that is June 4.

Chandigarh, frequently praised for its stunning beauty, is famous for its scenic vistas and well-planned urban layout.As the joint capital of Punjab and Haryana, it exemplifies meticulous city planning. In addition to housing the legislative assemblies and secretariats of both states, Chandigarh is also the seat of the esteemed Punjab and Haryana High Court. Steeped in history and cultural heritage, Chandigarh is unique in its status as a Union Territory, setting it apart from other administrative divisions in India.

At 10:21 AM, according to the Election Commission of India website, Indian National Congress is leading on the Chandigarh seat.

Chandigarh Lok Sabha Election Results 2024
Party Name Win + Leading


Chandigarh Lok Sabha results: What Exit Polls predicted

According to exit polls, the Congress party is expected to retain the sole Lok Sabha seat in the Union Territory of Chandigarh. The polls suggest that Manish Tewari, the Congress candidate, will emerge victorious against Sanjay Tandon of the BJP.

The BJP chose to field Sanjay Tandon, a former Municipal Councillor in Punjab with 14 years of experience and six assembly election victories, in place of the current MP, Kirron Kher.

In the 2019 Lok Sabha elections, BJP’s Kirron Kher emerged victorious in the Chandigarh constituency, securing 231,1988 votes. Her main rival, Pawan Kumar Bansal of the INC, received 184,218 votes.

This election marks a first-time alliance between the Congress and AAP in Chandigarh. Conversely, the BJP and its long-standing partner, Shiromani Akali Dal, have decided to contest separately.

For 58-year-old Manish Tewari, a former two-time MP and Union minister, this election carries particular importance as it represents a long-awaited homecoming since the 2009 polls. Nonetheless, since 1991, the Congress leadership consistently entrusted veteran functionary Pawan Kumar Bansal, who maintained a strong hold on the city’s political scene, preventing the emergence of new challengers.

Bansal emerged victorious in four out of the eight elections he contested, notably securing three successive terms in 1999, 2004, and 2009. However, he suffered significant setbacks in the last two Lok Sabha elections, losing to Kher.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisment -

Most Popular

Recent Comments